CIARAN O'DRISCOLL launches his latest novel, A Year's Midnight, and HAZEL BUCHAN CAMERON, author of Finding IKEA, reads at the Edinburgh Book Fringe 2012

CIARAN O'DRISCOLL launches his latest novel, A Year's Midnight, and HAZEL BUCHAN CAMERON, author of Finding IKEA, reads at the Edinburgh Book Fringe 2012

Saturday 11 August 2012 at 1.00pm

Word Power Books
43-45 West Nicolson Street

Admission Free! Donations Welcome!

All Welcome!
CIARAN O'DRISCOLL  has five poetry collections to his credit. The first of these, Gog and Magog, was published by Salmon in 1987, and re-issued on the internet by the Irish Literary Revival in 2006. His Moving On, Still There: New & Selected Poems was published by Dedalus in 2001. A dual language edition (in Italian and English) of his fourth collection of poems, The Old Women of Magione, was published by Volumnia Editrice in September 2006, the same year that Pighog published Surreal Man. His latest, A Year's Midnight, a novel, is published in April 2012.

Among the many awards O'Driscoll has won are the James Joyce Literary Millennium Prize and the Patrick and Katherine Kavanagh Fellowship in Poetry. His election in 2007 to the Aosdána, an institution established by the Irish Arts Council to honour artists and writers who have made an outstanding contribution to art and literature confirms O'Driscoll's position as one of the leading Irish poets of his generation. O’Driscoll was born in Callan, Co. Kilkenny in 1943, and now lives in Limerick.
HAZEL BUCHAN CAMERON  was born and brought up in Renfrewshire and recently moved to Edinburgh. She was a member of 'Lippy Bissoms', administers the Scottish Pamphlet Poetry website, works for the Public Catalogue Foundation and is author of five poetry pamphlets including The Currying Shop (2007), which was joint winner of the Callum Macdonald Memorial Award in 2008.  Red Squirrel Press published her recent collection Finding IKEA (2010). Hazel also writes articles and stories, which have appeared in Mslexia and on BBC radio and website.